Claim Now

To ensure we give you the most tailored advice regarding your data breach enquiry, we kindly request that you complete our specialised enquiry form. You can access the form
by clicking on the following button: Click here

Click here to return to the previous window

Frank Maguire, Solicitor of the YearMSPs from all over Scotland have signed a Scottish Parliamentary motion congratulating Frank Maguire, Thompsons Solicitors’ Senior Partner on being named Solicitor of the Year at the prestigious Law Awards of Scotland 2010.

Almost 30 Labour and SNP MSPs have put their names to the motion from Richard Baker, Labour’s  Justice spokesman.

The motion recognises that Mr Maguire received his award in light of his legal expertise, political commitment and his work with members of the Scottish Parliament from all parties to improve and protect the rights of workers with asbestos-related diseases.

Richard Baker said: “I am not surprised that Frank Maguire has received this level of support. “Frank’s instincts are always to strive to protect the vulnerable, and to ensure that our courts are available to all, regardless of their ability to pay.

“His extensive knowledge of the law when helping draft Parliamentary Bills and Amendments has been of enormous value to the Scottish Parliament.”

Among the Labour MSPs who signed the motion are: Des McNulty, Bill Butler, Jackie Baillie, John Park, David Whitton, Michael McMahon, Margaret Curran, and Cathie Craigie.

The SNP signatories include: Bill Kidd, Gil Paterson and Maureen Watt. Syd Smith, Thompsons’ Joint Senior Partner said: “Frank’s legal advice has made a huge contribution to a raft of Scottish Parliamentary legislation which means that those suffering from deadly asbestos related cancers like mesothelioma are significantly better off in Scotland than in England.

“He also helped draft the Bill protecting the right to compensation for Scottish victims of pleural plaques, which the Scottish Parliament passed, but the insurance industry is desperately trying to block.

“It is good that Richard Baker’s motion has given so many MSPs the opportunity to recognise Frank’s contribution.”

The full list of signatories is: Des McNulty, James Kelly, Duncan McNeil, Karen Gillon, Bill Butler, Bill Kidd, Jackie Baillie, Marlyn Glen, Dr Richard Simpson, John Park, Mary Mulligan, Claire Baker, David Whitton, Michael McMahon, Patricia Ferguson, George Foulkes, Margaret Curran, Stuart McMillan, Elaine Smith, Ken Macintosh, Cathie Craigie, Rhona Brankin, Bill Wilson, Hugh Henry, Gil Paterson, Maureen Watt, Cathy Jamieson.

Injured through no fault of your own?
Call us on
To see how much you could claim
Compensation Specialists
Our offices and meeting places
Talk to Thompsons
Claim Now